freedom island

2 girls in love…

Middlesex

abu-dhabi-liwa-desert-sands_29506_600x450

“Emotions, in my experience, aren’t covered by single words. I don’t believe in “sadness,” “joy,” or “regret.” Maybe the best proof that the language is patriarchal is that it oversimplifies feeling. I’d like to have at my disposal complicated hybrid emotions, Germanic train-car constructions like, say, “the happiness that attends disaster.” Or: “the disappointment of sleeping with one’s fantasy.” I’d like to show how “intimations of mortality brought on by aging family members” connects with “the hatred of mirrors that begins in middle age.” I’d like to have a word for “the sadness inspired by failing restaurants” as well as for “the excitement of getting a room with a minibar.” I’ve never had the right words to describe my life, and now that I’ve entered my story, I need them more than ever. ”

“Can you see me? All of me? Probably not. No one ever really has.”

“Maybe the best proof that the language is patriarchal is that it oversimplifies feeling.”

“Children learn to speak Male or Female the way they learn to speak English or French.”

“It was like autumn, looking at her. It was like driving up north to see the colors.”

“I went into the desert to forget about you. But the sand was the color of your hair. The desert sky was the color of your eyes. There was nowhere I could go that wouldn’t be you.”

Υποσχέθηκα middlesex… παραθέτω εδώ some bits and bites. 

λού-νού

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

